About Faculty of Sharia and Law Syarif Hidayatullah Islamic University Jakarta

The Faculty of Sharia and Law through the Ages

Prof Sunardjo    Syukri Ghozali    Amir Syarifuddin    Wasit Aulawi  Peunoh Daly  Mustadjib  Chairuddin  Amin Suma  Hasanuddin   Prof Amin Suma  JM Muslimin  Asep Saepudin Jahar  Tholabi Kharlie


The Faculty of Sharia and Law (FSL) is one of the eleven faculties of Syarif Hidayatullah State Islamic University (UIN) Jakarta. This faculty was founded in 1967. However, its history was inseparable from the long history of UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta, which started as the Academy of Religious Sciences Service (ADIA) in 1957. Initially, ADIA consisted of two study programmes: Sharia and Arabic. As a government training institution, students were limited to those assigned as employees and teachers under the auspices of the Ministry of Religion. Based on Government Regulation No. 11 of 1960, ADIA was transformed into State Islamic Institute (IAIN) with three study programmes: Islamic Education, Arabic, and Islamic Military Chaplaincy. 

In 1963, the Ministry of Religion assigned IAIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta and IAIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta to supervise Islamic Faculties all over Indonesia. UIN Jakarta had a duty to supervise four faculties in two regions: Faculty of Tarbiyah (Education), Faculty of Adab (Humanity) and Faculty of Usuluddin (Theology) in Jakarta, and Faculty of Sharia in Serang. At the end of 1966, UIN Jakarta initiated the opening of the Faculty of Sharia in Jakarta, and was inaugurated based on the Ministry of Religion Decree No. 159 of 1967. 

With the transformation of IAIN to UIN in 2001, based on a Joint Decree of the Ministry of Education No. 4/U/KB/2001 and the Ministry of Religion No. 500 of 2001, the Faculty of Sharia was renamed the Faculty of Sharia and Law. With this development, the Faculty has operated eight study programmes, consisting of Family Law (Ahwal Al Syakhsiyyah), Islamic Economic Law (Mu’amalah), Comparative Maddhab, Islamic Criminal Law (Jinayah), Constitutional Law (Siyasah), Law, Master of Islamic Economic Law, and Master of Family Law (Ahwal Syakhsiyyah).